[okfn-discuss] Fwd: Open Knowledge Foundation - Nomination Prix Ars Electronica 2010 - Digital Communities

Jonathan Gray jonathan.gray at okfn.org
Wed Mar 3 19:07:52 UTC 2010

We've just been nominated for Prix Ars Electronica 2010 in Digital
Communities category!

More information at:


As far I as can gather we have to submit:

  * detailed description of the work (concept and content).
  * supporting information and resources (in the case of texts, the
complete, unabridged version of the text; scientific, scholarly or
theoretical texts about the project; media coverage and reviews) as
well as illustrations.
  * a portrait photo of the author and graphics files describing the
project in the following formats: TIFF, EPS, BMP, JPG, GIF (JPG and
EPS only at maximum quality).
  * biography of the person submitting the entry.

Anyone interested in helping with the submission? In particular would
really love any assistance with preparing visual materials!

All the best,


---------- Forwarded message ----------
Dear Jonathan,

 “Open Knowledge Foundation” has been nominated in this year’s Prix
Ars Electronica in the category Digital Communties. Therefore, I would
like to encourage you and your team to participate with this project.

The category "Digital Communities", which met with great interest and
participation in the last years, will be awarded again by Prix Ars
Electronica in 2010. The Digital Communities category is open to
political, social and cultural projects, initiatives, groups and
scenes from all over the world that display contentious commitment in
coming up with smart, successful ways of deploying digital
technologies to solve social problems. Particular emphasis is placed
on a project’s degree of community innovation, its sustainability and
its use of technology in a way that makes good sense and is attuned to
the needs of the people meant to benefit from it. Digital Communities
projects should make it easier for people to access technology,
networks and the Digital Commons. We explicitely encourage
community-related net.art projects to submit.

 For a detailed description of the category and about Prix Ars
Electronica in general, please see our website:


One Golden Nica with 10,000 Euro, two Awards of Distinction with 5,000
Euro each and up to 12 Honorary Mentions will be awarded by the jury.

The deadline for submissions is March 5, 2010.

Please use  for your
submission and to obtain further details.

If you need any further information or help, please contact
communities at prixars.aec.at

Kind regards,

Cornelia Mayrhofer

Mag. (FH) Cornelia Mayrhofer
Prix Ars Electronica 2010 / Digital Communities
Ars Electronica Linz GmbH
Ars-Electronica-Straße 1
4040 Linz, Austria,
Telefon: 0043-732-7272-70
Fax: 0043-732-7272-674
E-Mail: communities at prixars.aec.at

Jonathan Gray

Community Coordinator
The Open Knowledge Foundation


More information about the okfn-discuss mailing list